God, flour, and yes, butter.

I don’t know about you but when I can’t sleep and wake before my alarm goes off (which I admit does not happen often), my first thought is: “Get up and make some scones.” And, yes, that is exactly what I did. However, I didn’t bake no ordinary scone. Are you ready?? Blackberry lavender scones. Fortunately, I had both blackberries AND lavender on hand and Joy the Baker had just posted a recipe for that exact type of scone. Fate? I think yes.

I usually make some changes to recipes I find, but for this one, I wasn’t chancing losing the perfection of this scone. I give all credit to Joy the Baker. Make sure to check out her blog: joythebaker.com  She bakes the things that everyone wishes could be combined together but doesn’t have the guts to just go for it. For example, popcorn in cookies, not even joking it’s a real thing. Before I put the recipe below, I should mention that I did use half whole wheat flour and half all-purpose flour. I guess I did alter the recipe a little afterall..still turned out great!

Lavender Blackberry Scones

Recipe from Joy the Baker

 3 cups all-purpose flour

1/3 cup granulated sugar

1 tablespoon dried lavender

2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup cold unsalted butter, cut into small cubes

1 large egg, lightly beaten

3/4 cup cold buttermilk

1 cup fresh blackberries (you can used thawed and drained berries from the freezer although the scones will have a more purple color)

1 beaten egg and granulated sugar for sprinkling on top before baking

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Sift flour, sugar, lavender, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together.  Cut in butter (using pastry cutter) until crumb-like mixture forms.    In another bowl, combine egg and buttermilk and beat lightly with a fork.  Add to flour mixture all at once, stirring enough to make a soft dough.  Fold in the blackberries.

Form the dough into a 1-inch circle on a floured surface. Cut into 2-inch rounds using a round cutter.  Reshape and roll dough to create more scones with excess scraps.    Place on an ungreased baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Brush lightly with beaten egg and sprinkle with granulated sugar.   Bake for 15-18 minutes or until golden brown on top.  Serve warm. They are best eaten the day made; however, they can be placed in the freezer and reheated for another day!

I like to eat my scones smothered in jam accompanied with a hot cup of coffee or tea.  

photo

Since I’m usually baking alone, it often gives me some ‘quiet time’ to think and process things (which is another way of saying, it’s a time I have conversations with myself…but that just makes me sound weird). I was thinking back to the summer before my final year of college and how grateful and content my heart felt in those months and the months following, and I began wondering…what happened, what am I missing? And the word that immediately came to my mind was intentionality. I have been so consumed in this search for balance in my life that it’s actually creating a lack of balance and an un-settling feeling. During that particular summer, I was intentional with my time…time devoted to others, myself, nature, and God. I felt connected to the sounds and smells around me and to others, myself, and God in a way I never had experienced before. Life just felt light and easy. Felt simple. This morning felt like that…light and simple. Maybe it’s me, but there’s something about mixing ingredients together to form a substance solid enough to hold itself together to be baked in the oven and then enjoyed. Not to get metaphorical on you, but isn’t that pattern similar to us? Our ingredients: our passions, our experiences, our knowledge, our beliefs, and our values are what holds us together so we don’t just crumble apart. As I was stirring the milk and egg into the crumb-like mixture just enough until it combined, I was gently reminded that although sometimes I feel like I’m that crumb-like mixture, just falling apart like a complete mess, if I focus my heart back to God, give time to others, and spend time in nature…I feel whole, I feel together.

And here I thought this morning  I was just going to be baking scones…

Leave a Reply

