john cusak and cereal

Lately, I have found it to be difficult to organize my thoughts. I have deleted and rewritten this post several times already. I feel I have much to share since my last post was almost a month ago, but I can’t quite seem to focus my thoughts. I’ve made several different recipes which I will soon have to make again and share on here.

I’ve also learned some more things about myself like… I’m the worse when it comes to making decisions, thinking about the details of future plans makes me anxious and stressed, I often do things impulsively, I am stubborn when it comes to admitting I was wrong, I’m competitive when playing Scrabble, and I spend way more time than necessary deciding which cereal I am going to purchase when I’m standing in the cereal isle at the grocery store. It’s funny how after spending time with the same person over and over, you become more aware of these silly details about yourself.

I’m still not sure where this post is going but if you can, stick with me. (There will be a recipe at the end for you to try.)

Perhaps the reason I’m having difficulty organizing my thoughts is because two upcoming transitions are about to occur in my life. The first one: I’m moving back home with my parents. The second one: I’m beginning grad school at the end of August. Although I consider myself to be more comfortable with the thought of temporary versus permanent, I do find that I easily get attached to places. I will miss my apartment (especially my kitchen), but I’ll miss the little places nearby that I’ve created memories in even more. I’m also not feeling quite prepared for grad school, partly because I’m not sure what to expect. I’m feeling a little overwhelmed, so naturally I’ve ignored thinking much about the details for both. I’m just trusting things will come together and it will all work out. It’s all part of my journey and I’ll choose to make the best out of whatever happens.

John Cusak said it best, “I’m not making any plans. I’m just going to let the universe surprise me.”

In the meantime, I’ll be dancing around my kitchen to Phillip Phillips’ song Gone, Gone, Gone. It’s fun AND necessary. Seriously, try it. It somehow cancels out anything that went wrong during your day. And yes, it even makes your regretful cereal choice not seem so bad after all.

photo (8)

Link to Gone, Gone, Gone Music Video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oozQ4yV__Vw

If you’re an oatmeal fan, I suggest you try making the recipe below:

Peanut Butter Banana Oatmeal

1) Cook together one banana (cut into pieces) and one tbs. of coconut oil in a sauce pan over medium heat for about 5 min. This will help caramelize the banana. Make sure to continuously stir.   

2) Add 1 cup of almond milk, 1 tablespoon of natural peanut butter, 1 teaspoon of chia seed, 1/2 cup of rolled oats, 1 tsp. cinnamon, and a few sprinkles of nutmeg. Whisk until combined. 

3) Bring to a low boil then reduce heat and simmer, stirring frequently, for about 8 minutes. Remove from heat. This is optional but you could also stir in 1 tsp. of van. extract. 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

