where I am

2014 has been good to me so far. Reflecting on my previous post and the 14 items I had hoped to focus on more this year, I feel I have had a slow start with the dinner invites, painting, playing guitar, and the obvious…blogging on a consistent basis. However, on the other hand, I do feel that I have focused more on cultivating a grateful heart each and every morning I wake up. The past few nights I have found myself falling asleep in the middle of quietly thanking God for the little things that occurred throughout my day.

While trying to remain grateful and leave the negative at the door, I have found it is not always easy. However, it has also taught me to be kinder to myself and patient. Lately, I feel caught in the middle of a tug-a-war battle between longing for the next new thing and feeling impatient and focusing on growing here in this moment, remembering it is only a temporary season. I tend to be the type of person to get something in their mind and then just do it, without much thought or planning. I’ve often felt that I would change my mind or talk myself out of whatever it was if I spent too much time planning for it. Perhaps that seems foolish, but it has led me to having some great experiences so far. People ask me why I chose a graduate school program all the way out in San Francisco, and my response is usually something like this: “I don’t know. I didn’t search for a program in any particular location, the pamphlet just arrived in my mail. I applied and got accepted. And then after bantering back and forth between whether or not I should accept, I accepted, and that was that (no turning back).” And now, here I am (with lots of school debt and acquiring more). I could allow the financial stress of school burden me (which when I think about, it often does); however, there’s a reason why I am where I am. I truly believe that. I don’t know exactly what I will be doing with my Human Science degree, but I do know that it has been a transforming experience so far. And I’m sure that wherever it may lead me next, I’ll banter again back and forth (like I usually do) of whether or not I should take the opportunity, and then wake up one morning and decide to just take it (no turning back).  

2014…here’s to just doing, embracing change, and remembering these 10 obvious truths that are so easily forgotten.

10 Painfully Obvious Truths Everyone Forgets Too Soon

    

Leave a Reply

