wholehearted living

As I have continued to lean in to my work, I have also begun to lean in to my connection with God. Sometimes life just gets busy or messy or confusing and your roots begin to loosen. Mine have for a period of time now, which oddly enough, I am thankful for. It allowed me to experience the lack of contentment and dissatisfaction that stems from feelings of inadequacy and lack of self-worth that I discovered could only begin to lessen when I sought strength from God. Since entering this new arena which requires I show up, be brave, and willing to fall, I realize I cannot tackle everything myself. And the good news is…I don’t have to. But it still requires effort on my end which is this: engagement with myself, others, and whatever else life brings to the table from a place of worthiness.

So what does it mean to live wholeheartedly? Brené Brown defines it best: “It means cultivating the courage, compassion, and connection to wake up in the morning and think, no matter what gets done and how much is left undone, I am enough. It’s going to bed at night thinking, yes I am imperfect and vulnerable and sometimes afraid, but that doesn’t change the truth that I am brave and worthy of love and belonging.”

Now, each morning I remind myself that I am enough, that I am brave and worthy of love and belonging. And each evening as I am about to fall asleep, I whisper to myself that I am enough, that I am brave and worthy of love and belonging. I still have days where I am not convinced of this myself, but it’s a start and something I’m realizing takes time to cultivate from within.

IMG_2375 Currently learning: Joy emerges from the ashes of adversity through trust and thankfulness.

Leave a Reply

